Three great Sextets

Time and Date: 
Sunday, October 8, 2017 - 15:00
Three great Sextets

Three great Sextets is a programme from the London Mozart Players who were founded in 1949, and the first British chamber orchestra, which remains alive and well. Six of their members bring a richly Romantic programme in which one will be able to revel in the all richness and subtleties conjured by great pieces for string sextet expertly played Strauss's last opera is a nostalgic, idealised journey back to a civilised Europe in time of war; Schoenberg’s impassioned fin de siècle extended tone poem is heard here in its original version, as is Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir – not a musical travelogue at all, but an almost symphonic four movement reverie, joyful and reflective, on an indelible experience for the troubled Russian master. Oxford Chamber Music Society.

Strauss Capriccio: Prelude
Schoenberg Verklärte Nacht
Tchaikovsky Souvenir de Florence

01865 305305
Event Location: 

Holywell Music Room

Holywell Street
Oxfordshire, England OX1 3SD
United Kingdom
Latitude: 51.755287
Longitude: -1.253199