Hell Fire caves began when Sir Francis Dashwood established the famous Hell-fire Club which held regular meetings in the Caves
15th-century chapel, restored by Gilbert Scott in 1875, The oldest surviving building in Buckingham. Peruse the second hand books in atmospheric chapel restored by Gilbert Scott in 1875. A selection of hot drinks and snacks are available for you to enjoy in the bookshop.
This Georgian mansion, surrounded by parkland, was restored from ruin by Lord and Lady Iliffe in the 1950s, when they restored the elegant interior and scoured the country salvaging 18th-century architectural fixtures and fittings. They filled their comfortable new home with fine paintings, fabrics and furniture, which can still be enjoyed by visitors today.
The Abbey, located at the heart of the village within its own woodland grounds, is a country house of various architectural styles, built upon the foundations of a former nunnery. Visitors can experience the atmosphere of the medieval rooms and cloister court, giving a sense of the Abbey's monastic past. The Abbey, dedicated to St Mary and St Bernard, was founded in 1229 by the widowed Lady Ela the Countess of Salisbury, who laid the abbey's first stone 16 April 1232, in the reign of King Henry III, and to which she retired in 1238.
The Fleece Inn was originally built in about 1400 as a longhouse by a prosperous yeoman farmer called Byrd. A longhouse is an early type of farmhouse which incorporated accommodation for livestock on the ground floor, alongside the family's living quarters. The Inn was first licensed in 1848, but remained in the Byrd family until 1977 when Lola Taplin bequeathed it to the National Trust.
Fully restored to its former glory, with witches circles and precious pewter collection, it has developed a reputation for traditional folk music, morris dancing and asparagus.
One of the largest and finest 13th-century tithe barns in the country, lying in the Worcestershire countryside.
If you're visiting Middle Littleton tithe barn make the most of your day by visiting nearby Croome Park, Lance 'Capability' Brown's first complete landscape garden or Hidcote Manor Garden, a celebrated 20th-century garden in the north Cotswolds.
Ashleworth Tithe Barn. together with the 15th century Ashleworth Court and the ancient church of St Andrew, have existed in this attractive setting for about 600 years.
The existing medieval Bredon Barn structure was almost destroyed by fire in 1980 when a cigarette accidentally ignited a hay bale. But it has since been restored with the aid of the National Trust (which owns the building).
The barn is 14th-century and made from local Cotswold stone. Dramatic aisled interior and unusual stone chimney cowling are notable.
Note: no WC.
Long Crendon Courthouse is a 15th-century two-storeyed timber frame building located in Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, England, and now a National Trust property.
It is believed that the building was used as a wool store before serving to house manorial courts, which were held here from the reign of Henry V until the reign of Victoria.
This building is a fine example of early timber-frame construction. The ground floor (now tenanted) was the village poor house. Note: stairs are extremely steep. Village exhibition on display.
A rare survival of a 17th-century duck decoy in working order. One of only a few left in the country.
Boarstall Tower is a 14th-century moated gatehouse, built by John de Haudlo and once part of a fortified manor house, set in gardens. Note: property is tenanted
Claydon House is in the Aylesbury Vale, Buckinghamshire, close to the village of Middle Claydon. It is owned by the National Trust. There has been a manor house on the site of the present house since before the Norman Conquest of England. In the Domesday Book (a survey of England published in 1086) the house was listed as belonging to the Peverell family, who arrived from Normandy with William the Conqueror. Their tenants, the Gresleys, were managing it for them at the time.
Hughenden Manor is a red brick Victorian mansion, located in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire. In the 19th century, it was the country house of the Prime Minister, Benjamin Disraeli.
Today, it is owned by the National Trust and fully open to the public. The house sits on the brow of the hill to the west of the main A4128 road that links Hughenden to High Wycombe, where it has fine views of the Chilterns countryside.
West Wycombe, the whole village is owned by National Trust who acquired it in 1929. The main A40, runs through it.
The Church of St Lawrence stands all alone on a 600 foot hill, on the site of a village no longer there. The village is famous for the Hell Fire Club.
It is an historic village with cottages and inns of architectural interest dating from 16th century. Views from West Wycombe Hill.
Note: church, mausoleum and caves are not National Trust.
Nearest WCs in village
West Wycombe Park, which is a Grade I listed building was given to the National Trust in 1943 by Sir John Dashwood, 10th Baronet (1896–1966), an action strongly resented by his heir. Dashwood retained ownership of the contents of the house, much of which he sold; after his death, the house was restored at the expense of his son, Sir Francis Dashwood.
The house encapsulates the entire progression of British 18th century architecture from early idiosyncratic Palladian to the Neoclassical, although it is architecturally unique.
Early 18th-century house with small walled garden, situated on the banks of the River Thames.
Admission by written appointment with the tenant. Please mark envelope 'National Trust booking'. Last admission 30 minutes before closing.
Westbury Court Garden is a Dutch water garden in Westbury-on-Severn, Gloucestershire, about 9 miles (14 km) southwest of Gloucester.
Originally laid out between 1696 and 1705, this is the only restored Dutch water garden in the country. Visitors can explore canals, clipped hedges and working 17th-century vegetable plots and discover many old varieties of fruit trees.
Croome was 'Capability' Brown's first complete landscape, making his reputation and establishing a new style of garden design which became universally adopted over the next 50 years. The outer eye-catchers, acquired in 2009, and the elegant park buildings were designed by Brown, Robert Adam and James Wyatt. Croome Court, sold by the Coventry family in 1948, is at last reunited with the parkland, allowing visitors to appreciate the 6th Earl's vision for the estate as a whole.
Once a Cistercian abbey was founded in 1246 by Richard of Cornwall and dissolved Christmas Eve 1539 about the same time as its nearby rival, Winchcombe Abbey, of which nought survives. Hailes never housed large numbers of monks but had extensive and elaborate buildings. It was financed by pilgrims visiting its renowned relic, 'the Holy Blood of Hailes' which was allegedly a phial of Christ's blood.
The house now known as the Manor House stands opposite the east end of the church. It was formerly known as Brook or Brooke House and the name was only changed in the late 19th century The house is first mentioned (as Broke House) in the reign of Elizabeth I in a grant dated 1589, but this was an earlier building, though some parts of it are incorporated in the present house. Arthur Oswald thought that the interior wall parallel to the front outside wall and fireplaces in two of the bedrooms may come from the Elizabthan house.
Waddesdon Manor is a large manor house in Buckinghamshire and was built in the Neo-Renaissance style of a French château between 1874 and 1889 for Baron Ferdinand de Rothschild (1839–1898). The last member of the Rothschild family to own Waddesdon was James de Rothschild.
He beqeathed the house and its contents to the National Trust in 1957. Today, following an extensive restoration, it is administered by a Rothschild charitable trust that is overseen by Jacob Rothschild, 4th Baron Rothschild. The house was built on a hilltop overlooking Waddesdon village.
Greys Court is a Tudor country house and associated gardens at the southern end of the Chiltern Hills at Rotherfield Greys, near Henley-on-Thames in Oxfordshire. It is owned by the National Trust and is open to the public. The name derives from an old connection to the Grey family, descendants of the Norman knight Anchetil de Greye.
Uffington Castle is all that remains of an early Iron Age (with underlying Bronze Age) hill fort in Oxfordshire, England. It covers about 32,000 square metres and is surrounded by two earth banks separated by a ditch with an entrance in the eastern end.
The Uffington White Horse is a highly stylised prehistoric hill figure, 374 feet (110 m) long, formed from deep trenches filled with crushed white chalk. The figure is situated on the upper slopes of White Horse Hill in the English civil parish of Uffington (in the county of Oxfordshire, historically Berkshire), some five miles south of the town of Faringdon and a similar distance west of the town of Wantage. The hill forms a part of the scarp of the Berkshire Downs and overlooks the Vale of White Horse to the north.
Canons Ashby House is an Elizabethan manor house located in Canons Ashby, Daventry, Northamptonshire. It has been owned by the National Trust since 1981, although "The Tower" is in the care of the Landmark Trust and available for holiday lets. It has been the home of the Dryden family since its construction in the 16th century.